Tuesday, January 3, 2012

The ABC's of Makenzie

Happy Tuesday everyone! For today's post I am going to do something different that I haven't done before..the ABC's of me! I figured now would be the perfect time being that is it anew year and plus I haven't really done much explaining about myself, so I thought it would be a fun way to get to know me a little bit!

(I am sure you've seen this floating around the blog world!!)

A. Age: 19...however my birthday is this month :)

B. Bed size: Queen! I had one of those twin XL bed's in the dorm last year and it was like death. I have always had a bigger bed and I couldn't get used to being confined to a small space because I log roll and flip and flop all through out the night!

C. Chore you dislike: Scrubbing the pots and extra dishes that don't fit in the dishwasher as well as cleaning bathrooms..but I don't think anyone enjoys cleaning toilets and tubs (yuck!)

D. Dogs: My family has never been huge dog people. We had one black lab named Sebastian, we called him Sab for short, that we adopted when he was about 8 or 9 when his parents moved to Hawaii and couldn't take him. Now we currently have a doberman named Nani (we didn't name her either) but it means beautiful in Hawaiian and her parents also moved to Hawaii and couldn't take her either.

E. Essential start to your day: Coffee and breakfast. If I don't have either one of those I will more than likely be a tad cranky

F. Favorite color: Lately I have been more into the grays and whites. But favorite colors evolve throughout the seasons and colors that are trending.

G. Gold or silver: Depends on my outfit to which one I will wear. But I would rather gold if I had to choose one over the other

H. Height: 5 foot 2 & 1/2 inches...every inch counts!

I. Instruments you play(ed):  I am sure at some point I played the recorder in elementary school but I am sad to say none that I can remember. However I wish I knew how to play the piano because it's so classy and timeless but I don't think I would be very coordinated but heyy I can always learn :)

J. Job title: Student :)

K. Kids: None. Being that I am 19 I have a lot of life to live yet before I consider the thought

L. Live: Currently in Beaufort where I have lived my entire life except when I lived in Charlston for a year last school year when I attended College of Charleston.

M. Mom’s name: Lisa

N. Nicknames: Mak, Mak Attack, Macaroni, Mak Daddy, basically anything with Mak that someone can throw together before calling my name. I have learned to answer to just about anything and to be completely honest, when someone actually calls me Makenzie it throws me off because I am so not used to it

O. Overnight hospital stays: Yes unfortunately. I had a major surgery summer of 2010 where I had to stay for 13 days plus I had to get readmitted a few weeks later because I was in a lot of pain due to the surgery. (keep reading you'll learn the jist of everything)

P. Pet peeves: People who stop completely in their tracks right in front of you while walking,  people who use blue tooth's because I can't tell you how many embarrassing times I thought some random person was saying hey whats up to me but I didn't see they were on the phone because of that stupid device, when the toilet paper is rolled under instead of over..I will change it as long as it's not a public bathroom because it drives me crazy (probably my #1 pet peeve), and when people listen to their iPods in the library at like the highest possible volume..soo annoying. Plus don't people realize how bad that is for your ears?!?!

Q. Quote from a movie: The only movie I can really quote is the Hangover and Wedding Crashers. But my boyfriend is SO good at quoting movies. He can literally watch it once and quote the entire thing. I however can watch it 10 times and still be completely lost when he tries quoting/joking about a movie.

R. Righty or lefty: Righty. I always wished I was left handed just because I thought it would be so neat to be different in that aspect. I had a teacher who was ambidextrous and that just blew my mind.

S. Siblings: Sister who is 16. As well as two twin step-brothers who are 26 and a step-sister who is 31

T. Time you wake up: During the week my alarm is set for 7:17am which is a random time but I feel like 7:15 is too early and waking up at 7:30 doesn't allow me enough time, so I tried 7:17 and it's the perfect amount of time to get ready! On the weekends however, I don't like sleeping past 9am because I feel like the day has gone to waste.

U. University: Weellll I have done my fair share of transferring but I have a logical excuse. My freshman year I went to College of Charleston. I was my dream school because I absolutely love the city and I thought it was perfect for me. Until about mid way through I realized it just wasn't for me. So I didn't know where I wanted to go and my mom said just come home and go to University of South Carolina Beaufort until you figure it out instead of transferring to another school and not liking it either. So that's what I did and that's where I am now. Mid way through my fall semester and after visting different schools, I knew I wanted to go to Clemson University. Sooo as of today my application is in and my transcripts are sent. I am still waiting to hear back but as soon as I do I will let you know!

V. Vegetables you don’t’ like: Well I do have to say I have broaden my food horizon in the last few years and have learned to like more vegetables and other foods but I still can't get over brussel sprouts, the smell just grosses me out.

W. What makes you run late: Welll not to brag on myself, but I am usually never late. I am the person that is always 10 minutes early to class, I give myself adequate time to get where I am going and can't stand when others are late and makes me late. (For my best friend who is reading this and she knows who she is, you are the exception because no matter how hard you try you're always late and I love you for it!!!! XOXO)

X. X-rays you’ve had: Lawwddd, I can't list them all. Well I mine as well and explain my surgery and all that comes with it because it's a huge part of me now and I have yet to explain. 4 years ago I was at the doctors for a normal check up and the doctor noticed a large lump/bump on my back. Long story short I was diagnosed with neurofibromatosis which basically means I don't have the gene to suppress tumor growth. Come to find out I had a large chest mass/tumor that was wrapped around my heart, pushing on my lung, surrounding my spine, around my juggler vein and brachial-plexus, and everything important basically and it had to get removed. That's why I was in the hospital for 13 long days. But leading up to the surgery I had more CT scans, MRI's, MRA's, yada yada yada than anyone should. One MRI took over 6 hours, it was horrible. But honestly this whole thing only made me stronger.

Y. Yummy food you make: Anything sweet, I can bake pretty well. But as long as I have a recipe the end result usually is delicious. But I can make a mean spaghetti and Caesar salad from scratch!

Z. Zoo animal favorites: Oh gosh, I love the zoo!!! I don't have a favorite animals but I have the animals I hate which are the snakes, spiders and all the reptiles. Yuck. They scare me and gross me out. Sooo needless to say I don't enter that part of the zoo when I go. I would lovee to go to the Jacksonville Zoo or the Columbia Zoo but I have yet to go, I might have to plan a trip with friends because that would be really fun thinking about it :)

Pheww! Well I hope you learned more about who I am and what I like!


1 comment:

Madilene Lake said...

This is so cute! I hope you wouldn't mind if I borrowed this idea! It's so great :)